Why aim of Japan was not completely out of reach

Japan's aim was not completely out of reach

So far, this is the biggest problem at the World Cup. Japan aim is not complete.

Germany was kicked out of the World Cup because of another questionable VAR call in Japan’s 2-1 win over Spain.

Hansi Flick’s team needed Spain to win the game, and that’s what happened in the first half, but Japan turned things around right after the break. Ritsu Doan scored the first goal for Samurai Blue before Ao Tanaka scored with a tap-in, but it was the second goal that really made people look twice.

The VAR scandal in Japan

Tanaka’s finish was fine, but before the ball was passed to him, it looked like the ball had gone out of play. It looked like Kaoru Mitoma got there a split second too late, but after a long VAR check, it was decided that the goal should stand.

No VAR replays or other proof of what happened were shown, so the controversy grew. Fans in the stadium and people watching at home didn’t know what was going on because the only replay they had seen was from the broadcasters. All things considered, the ball seemed to be out.

But the people in the VAR station were sure they had enough evidence to say that the whole ball hadn’t crossed the line. You could call this a Japan VAR decision.

From freeze frames of the event, it looks like the ball’s curve is hanging over the goal line, which means the ball is still in play. The rule is like the one for corners, where the ball doesn’t have to be on the line as long as it’s close to it.

When it’s time, the officials will likely say more about it.