England announce 2022 World Cup squad

England announce 2022 World Cup squad

The squad statistics released by England imply that Jordan Pickford will continue in his role as starting goalkeeper for the Three Lions at the 2022 World Cup in Qatar.

Since Gareth Southgate’s appointment, Pickford has been an indispensable component of the squad, helping them reach the semifinals of the 2018 World Cup and the final of the Euro 2020 tournament.

Despite being one of the few Everton players to show improvement in the first half of the Premier League season, Pickford is now under competition for his starting position from Nick Pope and Aaron Ramsdale. The fact that he now wears jersey number one suggests, however, that he has successfully warded off any such threat.

Yet, since the great majority of players are still using the same jersey numbers they had at Euro 2020, it’s hard to draw any firm conclusions from the list.

As part of the ‘Our World Cup’ series, Harry Symeou welcomes Scott Saunders, Grizz Khan, and Jack Gallagher for a retrospective on France ’98. Come along with us as we revisit the past.

During the World Cup, Callum Wilson will wear number 24, James Madison number 25, and Conor Gallagher number 26. Also, different jersey numbers will be worn by Jude Bellingham, Trent Alexander-Arnold, and Bukayo Saka than they did at the Euros.


  • Jordan Pickford (Everton)
  • Nick Pope (Newcastle United)
  • Aaron Ramsdale (Arsenal)
  • Defenders:
    Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool)
  • Conor Coady (Everton, loan from Wolverhampton Wanderers)
  • Eric Dier (Tottenham Hotspur)
  • Harry Maguire (Manchester United)
  • Luke Shaw (Manchester United),
  • John Stones (Manchester City)
  • Kieran Trippier (Newcastle United)
  • Kyle Walker (Manchester City)
  • Ben White (Arsenal)


  • Jude Bellingham (Borussia Dortmund)
  • Conor Gallagher (Chelsea)
  • Jordan Henderson (Liverpool)
  • Mason Mount (Chelsea),
  • Kalvin Phillips (Manchester City)
  • Declan Rice (West Ham United)


  • Phil Foden (Manchester City)
  • Jack Grealish (Manchester City)
  • Harry Kane (Tottenham Hotspur)
  • James Maddison (Leicester City)
  • Marcus Rashford (Manchester United)
  • Bukayo Saka (Arsenal)
  • Raheem Sterling (Chelsea)
  • Callum Wilson (Newcastle United)